Masks Recommended

Masks are recommended but no longer required to enter the library.
Our COVID Protocols can be found here

Memorial Day

The Library will be closed Sunday, May 29 and Monday, May 30 in observance of Memorial Day.

Document Shredding & Medicine Collection

Shredding Schedule

Details for shredding at Harborfields Public Library is as follows:

No registration is necessary.

You may bring up to three (3) bags or boxes of household documents.

Drive your vehicle into the library parking lot on Wyckoff Street, adjacent to the Main Library entrance, to get in the queue for shredding. When you are next to the truck, remove your items from your vehicle and empty them into the large bin for shredding, and exit the parking lot. Plastic bags and cardboard boxes cannot go through the shredder.

Please call individual libraries for their shredding guidelines. Each library welcomes patrons living within the Town of Huntington.

Saturday, May 14
11:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Commack Public Library
18 Hauppauge Road, Commack
631-499-0888


Sunday, May 15
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Half Hollow Hills Community Library, Melville Branch
510 Sweet Hollow Road, Melville
631-421-4535


Saturday, May 21
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Elwood Public Library
1929 Jericho Tpke., East Northport
631-499-3722

⇒ JUNE 4th HAS BEEN CANCELED
Saturday, June 4
9:30 AM - 12:30 PM
South Huntington Public Library
145 Pidgeon Hill Road, Huntington Station
631-549-4411


Saturday, July 2
9:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Cold Spring Harbor Library
95 Harbor Road, Cold Spring Harbor
631-692-6820

Saturday, October 1
9:30 AM – 12:00 PM
Harborfields Public Library
31 Broadway, Greenlawn
631-757-4200


Saturday, October 15
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
South Huntington Public Library
145 Pidgeon Hill Road, Huntington Station
631-549-4411


Saturday, October 22
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Elwood Public Library
1929 Jericho Tpke., East Northport
631-499-3722

Medicine Collection

The Public Libraries in the Town of Huntington have partnered with Northport Police Department, Suffolk County Police Department, and Suffolk County Sheriff's Office to collect unused or expired prescription and over-the-counter medications. Proper disposal of these items is essential for risk reduction and environmental protection. No questions asked and no personal information is required.

Only medications in pill form will be accepted and must be placed in a plastic bag before arrival.

Tuesday, April 5
12:00 - 3:00 PM
Commack Public Library
18 Hauppauge Road, Commack
631.499.0888

Thursday, April 14
3:30 - 6:30 PM
Northport Public Library
151 Laurel Avenue, East Northport
631.261.6930

3:30 - 6:30 PM
East Northport Public Library
185 Larkfield Road, East Northport
631.261.2313

Tuesday, May 3
12:00 - 3:00 PM
Cold Spring Harbor Library
95 Harbor Road, Cold Spring Harbor
631.692.6820

Tuesday, May 10
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
South Huntington Public Library
145 Pidgeon Hill Road, Huntington Station
631.549.4411

Friday, May 20
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Elwood Public Library
1929 Jericho Turnpike, Elwood
631.499.3722

Tuesday, May 24
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Harborfields Public Library
31 Broadway, Greenlawn
631.757.4200

12:00 - 2:00 PM
Huntington Public Library, Station Branch
1335 New York Avenue, Huntington Station
631.421.5053

Tuesday, May 31
4:00 - 6:00 PM
Half Hollow Hills Community Library
55 Vanderbilt Parkway, Dix Hills
631.421.4530